• d
  • e

Sixteenth-Century Painted Leather Pouches for Archiving Documents Exhibition from 13 September to 12 November 2017

During his term of office from 1579 to 1593, Fribourg’s state chancellor Wilhelm Techtermann had some fifty elaborately worked leather pouches made in which to archive important documents and deeds. Fourteen of these little bags have been preserved in the Archives de l’État de Fribourg and were recently studied and conserved at the Abegg-Stiftung as part of a degree project by a student of textile conservation and restoration. Six of these remarkable pouches and some documents they once contained are now on show at the Abegg-Stiftung. Media Release | Poster Master’s Thesis

Header_1586

 

Winkel

1587_Saecklein

Pouch for the Deed of the Golden League

This leather pouch is painted with coats of arms arranged in a circle around a white dove with a golden nimbus. The coats of arms (read clockwise from top centre) are those of the cantons Fribourg, Uri, Unterwalden, Solothurn, Zug, Schwyz, and Lucerne. Below the coats of arms is a banderole containing the inscription “Catholischer Pünd der 7 Orte” (lit. “Catholic league of the 7 cantons”). The pouch contained the deed of the Golden League, an alliance of the seven Catholic cantons agreed in Lucerne on 5 October 1586. |  Fribourg, 1587; painted leather, leather drawstrings and ornamental knots, silk fringed border and tassels, 38 x 31 cm; Archives de l’État de Fribourg, bourses d’archives, 10

SONY DSC

Deed of the Golden League

This magnificent document was drawn up on a rectangular sheet of parchment measuring 64 x 53 cm. The visible creases indicate that it was folded to make it fit inside the leather pouch. The deed still possesses five of the seven wax seals it had originally, one of which is kept inside a wooden seal case to protect it. The seals are suspended on cords in the colours of each canton. |  Deed of the Golden League, 1586; parchment, painted; Archives de l’État de Fribourg, traités et contracts, 16a

Buergerrecht_Saecklein

Pouch Bearing the Coat of Arms of the Lords of Neuchâtel and That of Fribourg

Above the coat of arms is a banderole containing the inscription: “Burgrecht mit de(n) Grafen vo(n) Nüwe(n)burg” (lit. “Burgrecht with the lords of Neuchâtel”), underneath which is the smaller, barely legible, marking: “D 63 … No 70”. The coat of arms, markings, and label on the back of the bag allowed the original contents to be deduced. The archiving pouch once contained eight folded deeds, all of which have likewise survived. The two oldest ones date from the year 1290. |  Fribourg, 1586; painted leather, leather drawstrings and ornamental knots, silk fringed border and tassels, 46.5 x 32 cm; Archives de l’État de Fribourg, bourses d’archives, 6

• d
  • e

Bemalte Ledersäcklein des 16. Jahrhunderts zur Aufbewahrung von Urkunden Ausstellung vom 13. September bis 12. November 2017

Für die Aufbewahrung wichtiger Dokumente und Urkunden liess der Freiburger Staatsschreiber Wilhelm Techtermann (im Amt von 1579 bis 1593) rund 50 aufwendig gestaltete Lederbeutel fertigen. Vierzehn Säcklein blieben im Staatsarchiv Freiburg i. Üe. erhalten. Sie wurden kürzlich in der Abegg-Stiftung im Rahmen einer Abschlussarbeit im Studiengang Textilkonservierung/-restaurierung untersucht und restauriert. Nun werden sechs dieser einzigartigen Beutel sowie einige dazugehörige Urkunden aus dem Freiburger Staatsarchiv ausgestellt. Pressetext | Poster Master-Thesis

Header_1586

 

Winkel

1587_Saecklein

Säcklein für die Urkunde des Goldenen Bundes

Das Ledersäckchen ist mit einem Wappenkreis bemalt, der eine weisse Taube mit goldenem Heiligenschein umschliesst. Im Uhrzeigersinn, von der oberen Mitte beginnend, sind die Wappen von Freiburg, Uri, Unterwalden, Solothurn, Zug, Schwyz und Luzern dargestellt. Unterhalb der Wappendarstellung ist ein Schriftband mit dem Wortlaut «Catholischer Pünd der 7 Orte» erkennbar. Das Säcklein enthielt die Urkunde des Goldenen Bundes, eines am 5. Oktober 1586 in Luzern geschlossenen Bündnisses der sieben katholischen Orte. | Freiburg i. Üe., 1587; bemaltes Leder, lederne Zugschnüre und Zierknoten, seidene Fransenborten und Quasten, 38 x 31 cm; Staatsarchiv Freiburg, Archivsäcklein, 10

SONY DSC

Urkunde des Goldenen Bundes

Das prachtvolle Dokument besteht aus einem rechteckigen Pergament mit einer Grösse von etwa 64 x 53 cm. Es sind Knickspuren erkennbar, die Hinweise auf die Aufbewahrung im Ledersäckchen geben. Die Urkunde besitzt noch fünf ihrer ehemals sieben Wachssiegel; eines davon liegt in einer schützenden Siegeldose aus Holz. Die Siegel hängen an Schnüren in den entsprechenden Wappenfarben. | Goldener Bund der sieben katholischen Orte der Eidgenossenschaft, 1586. Pergament, bemalt; Staatsarchiv Freiburg, Verträge und Richtungen, 16a

Buergerrecht_Saecklein

Säcklein mit dem Wappen der Grafen von Neuenburg und dem Wappen von Freiburg

Über der Wappendarstellung ist ein Schriftband mit dem Schriftzug «Burgrecht mit de(n) Grafen vo(n) Nüwe(n)burg» zu erkennen. Unter dem Schriftzug ist die kleinere, schwer lesbare Aufschrift «D 63 … No 70» vermerkt. Anhand der Wappendarstellungen, der Beschriftung und des Etiketts auf der Rückseite des Beutels konnte der ursprüngliche Inhalt vollständig rekonstruiert werden. Das Archivsäckchen enthielt acht gefaltete Urkunden, die alle auch im Freiburger Staatsarchiv erhalten geblieben sind. Die beiden ältesten datieren aus dem Jahr 1290. | Freiburg i. Üe., 1586; bemaltes Leder, lederne Zugschnüre und Zierknoten, seidene Fransenborten und Quasten, 46,5 x 32 cm; Staatsarchiv Freiburg, Archivsäcklein, 6