• d
  • e

Special Exhibition 2017 Material Traces – Conserving and Exploring Textiles, 30 April to 12 November 2017

The conservation and restoration of textiles have been a key mission of the Abegg-Stiftung ever since its founding fifty years ago. Elaborate measures are often required before historical textiles can be durably preserved and their beauty fully appreciated when they go on show. The paramount goal is always to conserve what is there, even if that means leaving alterations and signs of age and wear clearly legible.
The Abegg-Stiftung’s special exhibition 2017 is dedicated to methods of analysing and treating textile works of art and explains what these can tell us about the production, function and history of such works. At the heart of the exhibition are medieval textiles from Central Asia and China, here presented to the public for the first time. Media release

hirsche

 

a20161021v_nähen-hände-03a_neu

The conservation and restoration of a historical fabric generally entails a preliminary assessment followed by its cleaning and consolidation, its preparation for proper storage or display, and finally the writing of a report detailing the action taken. The work required is often very time-consuming. │Conservation of a silk fabric by stitching.

Abb40

Before the best approach to the conservation and restoration of a specific piece can be decided, the materials and manufacturing techniques first have to be analysed and the source of any damage ascertained. This work often yields unexpected insights into historical manufacturing methods. │ Heel of a twined shoe prior to conservation. Central Asia  (Xinjiang), 5th to 6th century, inv. no. 5649b

t5682_068a_20170126v

While some historical dyes are extremely stable, others are very sensitive to light, water and climatic changes. The same holds true for aged raw materials. The cleaning method selected must take account of such factors, as must any other treatment applied. │ Camel. Detail of a large-format hanging with animals in medallions. Central Asia, 8th to mid-9th century, inv. no. 5682

5686a_P_6

Tears and holes can be optically closed by carefully aligning the threads along the grain of the weave. Intervention in such cases is generally confined to measures used to prevent further fraying. The preferred method is to underlay the damaged area of the textile with a matching backing fabric and to stitch it in place with fine silk thread.│ Silk with cattle. Central Asia, 1st half 7th century, inv. no. 5686a

Fragment

Analysing historical textiles is a good way of learning about how they were actually used. It might be possible to reconstruct the original form of a robe, for example, or to reunite long since separated pieces of the same garment or fabric. │ Fragment of a robe decorated with embroidery. Central Asia, 5th to 6th century, inv. no. 5582b

Ganzansicht

Dust-proof and light-proof storage under stable climatic conditions is essential to the long-term preservation of textile works of art. Tailor-made mounts and figurines are the best form of support. Exhibitions of historical textiles have the lowest level of lightening possible. │ Child’s upper garment made of wool. Eastern. Central Asia, 4th to 2nd century B.C., inv. no. 5567

Leon

The Master of Arts in Conservation-Restoration (specialisation textiles) offered by the Abegg-Stiftung and Bern University of Applied Sciences is a five-year programme. With its theoretical modules and emphasis on hands-on work, the programme prepares students for the very varied work of a textile conservator. │ Silk with suckling lionesses in medallions. Central Asia, 8th to mid-9th century, inv. no. 5687

• d
  • e

Sonderausstellung Spurensuche – Erhalten und Erforschen von Textilien, 30. April bis 12. November 2017

Die Konservierung und Restaurierung von Textilien gehören zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben der Abegg-Stiftung, seit sie vor 50 Jahren gegründet wurde. Um die langfristige Erhaltung von historischen Geweben zu ermöglichen, aber auch um ihre Schönheit in einer Ausstellung zur Geltung bringen zu können, sind oft aufwendige Massnahmen nötig. Oberstes Ziel ist dabei immer das behutsame Sichern des Vorhandenen; Veränderungen, Spuren des Alters und der langjährigen Nutzung bleiben lesbar.
Die Sonderausstellung 2017 widmet sich den Untersuchungs- und Behandlungsmethoden von textilen Kunstwerken und dokumentiert die daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse zu deren Herstellung, Funktion und Geschichte. Im Zentrum stehen mittelalterliche Stoffe aus Zentralasien und China, die zum ersten Mal der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt werden. Pressetext

hirsche

 

a20161021v_nähen-hände-03a_neu

Die Konservierung und Restaurierung eines historischen Textils umfasst in der Regel eine Voruntersuchung, Massnahmen zur Reinigung und Sicherung, Vorkehrungen zur geeigneten Lagerung oder Ausstellung sowie einen Rechenschaftsbericht. Häufig sind die Arbeiten sehr zeitaufwendig. │ Nähkonservierung an einem Seidengewebe.

Abb40

Damit das optimale Vorgehen bei der Konservierung und Restaurierung festgelegt werden kann, müssen zunächst Materialien und Herstellungstechniken untersucht sowie Schadensursachen abgeklärt werden. Den Textilspezialisten eröffnen sich unerwartete Einblicke in historische Fertigungsweisen. │ Ferse eines Schuhs in Zwirnbindung vor der Restaurierung. Zentralasien (Xinjiang), 5.–6. Jahrhundert, Inv. Nr. 5649b

t5682_068a_20170126v

Manche historischen Färbungen sind ausserordentlich stabil, andere reagieren sehr empfindlich auf Licht, Wasser oder klimatische Veränderungen. Gleiches gilt für die gealterten Rohmaterialien. Die Behandlung, insbesondere die Wahl der geeigneten Reinigungsmethode, muss darauf Rücksicht nehmen. │ Kamel. Ausschnitt aus einem grossformatigen Behang mit Tieren in Medaillons. Zentralasien, 8. bis Mitte 9. Jahrhundert, Inv. Nr. 5682

5686a_für Seite 6

Risse und Löcher können durch sorgfältiges und fadengerades Ausrichten des Gewebes optisch geschlossen werden. Sie werden nur so weit gesichert, dass sie für die Zukunft kein Risiko darstellen. Bevorzugte Methode ist das Unterlegen mit passendem Stoff, auf den das beschädigte Gewebe mit feinen Seidenfäden aufgenäht wird. │ Seidengewebe mit Rindern. Zentralasien, 1. Hälfte 7. Jahrhundert, Inv. Nr. 5686a

Fragment

Die Untersuchung und Dokumentation ermöglicht Einblicke in die Nutzungsgeschichte eines Gegenstandes. So kann unter Umständen die originale Form eines Gewandes rekonstruiert werden, oder im Verlauf der Zeit voneinander getrennte Teile lassen sich wieder zusammenfügen. │ Fragment eines Gewandes mit gesticktem Dekor. Zentralasien, 5.–6. Jahrhundert, Inv. Nr. 5582b

Ganzansicht

Zur langfristigen Erhaltung von Kunstwerken ist eine staub- und lichtgeschützte Lagerung unter stabilen Klimabedingungen unerlässlich. Passgenau hergestellte Montagen und Figurinen bieten eine optimale Stütze. In Ausstellungen wird die Beleuchtung so weit wie möglich reduziert. │ Wollenes Kinderhemdchen. Östliches Zentralasien, 4.–2. Jahrhundert v. Chr., Inv. Nr. 5567

Leon

Das Studium der Textilkonservierung/-restaurierung an der Abegg-Stiftung/Berner Fachhochschule dauert fünf Jahre und führt zum Abschluss als Master of Arts. Theoretischer Grundlagenunterricht und ein hoher Anteil an vielseitiger Atelierpraxis bereiten optimal auf den Berufsalltag vor. │ Seidengewebe mit säugenden Löwinnen in Medaillons. Zentralasien, 8. bis Mitte 9. Jahrhundert, Inv. Nr. 5687